Good one, Ayn.

Ayn Rand apologises for the whole “objectivism” prank:

“Fine,” he said huffily. “Who would you go after?”
“Rich white college kids.”
“Jesus,” he said. “That’s… that’s perfect.”
“I know, right?”
“They’re the worst.”
“God, they’re horrible.”
“But what are you going to do to them?”
“I’m going to convince them… that they’re just too nice.”

We laughed for twenty minutes. I was tearing up, and Ronnie was wheezing like he was going to stroke out. I didn’t even know where I was going with this idea. But it felt just so fucking wrong. In a good way. In a great way.

Of course we never thought we could do any of this. You figure even the most entitled, morally backward people kind of know they’re being dicks. No one is going to believe that being selfish and irresponsible is actually a good thing. Right?

Next thing I know Ronnie’s goaded me into writing this wooden, transparently stupid novel. And it sells, like, a bajillion copies. I kept waiting for someone to figure out it was all a joke. But the reporters kept asking serious, thoughtful questions, and the goddamn college kids kept joining those clubs.

They’re going to be crushed when they realise. (They do still have the capacity for self-criticism, right?)

UPDATE: Paul writes to advise that Ayn hasn’t finished yet.

3 responses to “Good one, Ayn.

  1. A long bow I know. It reminds me about this girl I knew back in the sixties she was drop dead gorgeous she made El Mc Phearson look like Phyllis Diller. The only problem was she was a member at the time of the young Liberals. I was desperate to have sex with this young thing from heaven.

    So!

    I told her I was a conservative, the Vietnam war was the best foreign policy decision since the Suez crisis, Billy McMahon was the most misunderstood conservative of his time, conscientious objectors were cowards and should be shot at dawn The lies I told her.

    No I ain’t telling.

  2. zaratoothbrush

    Jeez, lynot, why didn’t you just tell her you were in a band…

  3. I never liked Elle anyway but that’s a pretty kick arse story lynot.

    Ayn is low hanging fruit. And yet, somehow, I never tire of seeing smart people take the piss out of her.

Leave a Reply

