Penbo triples down

News.com.au editor David Penberthy has a refreshingly audacious method of playing his cards.

First losing hand: an easily disprovable lie that he refuses to withdraw or correct.

Then he doubles-down with his second losing hand – publishing a piece that repeats that lie. That is then silently (without acknowledgement) corrected.

And now, he enthusiastically, defiantly plays his third losing hand – I’m going to pretend I said something different! And the new different thing I’m pretending I said is also not true! I don’t care about reality! I don’t care if I have any credibility left! Take me to the press council! Nothing can stop me!

I can’t even imagine his next play. He seems to believe there are no limits.

PS If you’re interested, the number for Media Watch is 02 8333 4454.

ELSEWHERE: Excellent post at The Tally Room retorting to the Labor spin machine.

9 responses to “Penbo triples down

  1. narcoticmusing

    Me thinks Huxley has a fan…

  2. narcoticmusing

    Valid suggestions Jeremy… I cannot shake my fist hard enough at that link though.

    One need not wonder why their is opposition to the sort of requiements Canada makes of journalism*

    *you know, pissy things like not misrepresenting issues or misleading people – cleary undemocratic How could News ever write an article again if they were required to not mislead?

  3. narcoticmusing

    Barney Zwartz’ piece in the age today had a perfect opening line that is apt to describe Penbo’s actions

    When it comes to the media you have, as Mark Twain observed, a difficult choice. If you don’t read the newspaper you are uninformed. If you do read the newspaper you are misinformed.

  4. Is it possible to be anti-informed? To have information literally sucked out of you?
    Can a news service actually RELIEVE you of the information you had before consuming it?

    http://www.foxnews.com/
    Just wondering…

  5. narcoticmusing

    Penbo obviously thinks so (hopes so)

  6. jordanrastrick

    Poor ol’ Penbo seems to have maintained the rage against the Greens a little bit too hard here. Hopefully the Press Council takes him to task a bit and he publishes it in full, and maybe even replies with an at least partial mea culpa.

    Of course we can’t just naievely regulate away deceptive or even false journalism, leads to too many issues concerning freedom of speech etc

    e.g. Does Jeremy count as a journalist? If not why not? If so, should he have faced some sort of legal censure for repeating a false claim from teh internetz (that probably doesn’t meet any grounds for defamation etc) and then only partly retracting them when I made a rude asshole out of myself by banging him over the head with the problem over and over and over?

    https://anonymouslefty.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/one-wikileaks-article-definitely-worth-reading/

    Maybe we need an officially legislated independent body for some sort of “Truth Off”.

    “The Greens preferenced Hanson….”
    “That’s false! Retract it!”
    “Its not false, you’re being pedantic….”
    “You’re claim that its not false is also false! I challenge ye to a TRUTH OFF!”
    “Uh……..”

    Option 1: I know I screwed up and maybe I’m going to admit it now or maybe I’m not, either way I’m going to skulk away into a corner and not accept the TRUTH OFF challenge, thus more or less admitting I’m a liar while maintaining my freedom of speech.

    Option 2: I’m pretty sure both my claims were true! LETS HAVE SOME TRUTH OFF ACTION BABY.
    parties go to independent streamlined quasi-judicial body to duke it out. Loser pays a massive fine of humiliation and the costs of running the affair.

  7. “Does Jeremy count as a journalist? If not why not? If so, should he have faced some sort of legal censure for repeating a false claim from teh internetz (that probably doesn’t meet any grounds for defamation etc) and then only partly retracting them when I made a rude asshole out of myself by banging him over the head with the problem over and over and over? “

    No, I’m a barrister. Journalism is not my profession. This blog is not an accredited media organisation. Crikey is, and you could argue we’re being “journalists” there, but only at the fringe – we’re just commenting on other journalists. We’re not out there as a primary source.

    As for that Huckabee thing – my original claim was sourced (although possibly wrong) and I did include an update when that was pointed out.

  8. jordanrastrick

    No, I’m a barrister. Journalism is not my profession. This blog is not an accredited media organisation. Crikey is, and you could argue we’re being “journalists” there, but only at the fringe – we’re just commenting on other journalists. We’re not out there as a primary source.

    This is precisely my point. Alan Jones, to take one example, isn’t a primary source. He rehashes all his stuff from newspapers. He could easily afford to do his radio show for free and live off his existing wealth if he wanted to. And then he’d be no more a “professional journalist” than you, just a more prominent opinion-setter. He couldn’t be held account for failures of non-defamatory fact checking any more than you, under any reasonable scheme, even though he has serious influence on a number of voters orders much higher than you or, for that matter, Penbo.

    And in fact most journalists aren’t primary sources these days for most stories. 95% of what most working journalists do is rehashing, checking, distilling, sifting etc other primary and secondary sources. The only difference between them and you is that they get paid a living income for it. And if this blog became successful enough and you chose to ran enough ads, you could, too.

    The clear taxonomy between authoritative journalists and non-authoritative “others”, that needs to be in place for any (presumably government regulated) “truth enforcement” reigime to be practical, doesn’t currently exist, would be hard to create, and is only going to get less relevant as traditional media is subsumed by the forces of the web.

Leave a Reply

