Oh, that’s what I was missing

You know when you can hear the leaves rustling in the trees overhead, or your feet connecting with the footpath, or the sound of a page turning gently? Or the ends of people’s words even when they’re speaking quietly? I can too, now.

Sounds I haven’t heard for thirty years. It’s quite extraordinary.

14 responses to “Oh, that’s what I was missing

  1. Lovely to hear, Jeremy. No pun intended. Why did you leave so long though?

  2. Mainly ‘cos I didn’t realise what I was missing out on.

  3. It’s amazing how many people don’t realise they have a hearing loss. As students we did hearing screenings at rural field days. Consistently we found that about 30% of farmers had a mild to moderate loss. Believe me, with a moderate hearing loss, you’re missing out on a lot.

    Good to see that you got it sorted.

  4. Splatterbottom

    Hear, hear.

  5. @SB

    Thankyou, I’ll be here all week…

    Try the veal.

  6. Seriously though,

    Well done Jeremy. It’ll make a big difference to you…

  7. Thanks.

    And PJH makes a good point – if you can’t hear your keys tapping on the keyboard, or you find yourself constantly saying “what” and “I beg your pardon” and it’s not because you’re reading something written by a crazy person, get your hearing tested.

    It’s like a whole new sense.

  8. jordanrastrick

    Congrats Jeremy!

  9. “Mainly ‘cos I didn’t realise what I was missing out on.”

    I passed every eye test in dchool, I had my eyes tested by an optician when I was thirteen, I’m short sighted, I really didn’t know what I was missing out on, wearing glasses was a revelation. Oh, I started behaving myself in school (I didn’t even realise that i couldn’t see the blackboard)

    Goodonya Jeremy.

  10. I’m just typing this to verify that I can hear it……
    Woo Hoo!!
    I give it three years of marriage and you’ll start “forgetting” to buy new batteries for the thing. 😉

    Cheers

  11. Splatterbottom

    Marek, did you type anything? Your comment appears to be blank!

  12. Marek, as long as I can somehow disable my hearing, that sounds like a plan.

    It’ll cut down on the small niggly arguments, though, since many of them would be about how loud the TV was (Me: blaring to the point I can’t be in the room. Him: I can barely hear the dialogue), and whether he wasn’t hearing me or wasn’t listening. Now I’ll know he’s not listening.

    In all seriousness, it’s nice to see Jeremy hearing the world as it is, instead of straining to hear things and missing so much.

  13. I totally disagree with your political leanings, Jeremy, but that’s wonderful news you posted here.

Leave a Reply

