Greens up to 16% in a Newspoll: time for a new smear campaign against them

Today’s story about surging support for the Greens – up four points to 16% in a Newspoll (of all things) is a heartwarming step in the right direction (which I define as voters selecting representatives rather than rulers) that should chill the blood of the powers that be.

Well, it would if the single-member electorate system used to form government wasn’t so fundamentally biased against anyone but the Coalition and Labor, if the old parties didn’t have huge reserves of donor and public money to wage their war on the Greens, and if the major commercial media organisations in this country weren’t so good at suppressing the Green vote with last-minute smear campaigns. (You know, the “Greens want to inject your children with gay drugs” lines and the targeted lies they propagate in the last week of each campaign.)

Still, it’s cheering to see that almost a quarter of voters (if you include the supporters of other non-major parties) are not prepared to vote for the Liberal and Labor crooks who steal their money in order to pay for expensive propaganda. Let’s hope those numbers get even higher as we approach polling day. You can be sure that the two old parties will do plenty more between now and then to deserve it.

UPDATE: Well, state Labor reveals the approach it will be taking – misleading lies:

Labor is the only viable option for those wanting to achieve progressive change; the Greens don’t know what they stand for.

”The challenge for the Greens is to actually demonstrate they are interested in achieving things, rather than playing politics on issues,” Mr Reece said.

”In Canberra, they failed to support the emissions trading scheme, and in Victoria, they are yet to come out against the Liberal Party’s attempts to destroy the wind farm industry. They would rather play politics than actually take action against climate change.”

Being accused of “playing politics on issues” by Labor is kind of like, well, being called a “liar” by Andrew Bolt. And as for the ETS, Labor refused to negotiate at all with the Greens and ended up with a scheme that rewarded polluters and was, sadly, worse than doing nothing. As for the wind farm attack- I haven’t heard that line, but (based on previous experience) I’d bet good money it doesn’t stand up to scrutiny. The ALP has cried wolf on these things so many times that I simply don’t believe a word they say. Still, I’ll get an answer and get back to you on it.

UPDATE #2: It’s not clear what the ALP’s referring to on the wind farm thing, so we’ll need to wait for more details to get a specific response.

I’ve suggested that the Greens should have a section of their website set up to respond to these smears as they come to light.

18 responses to “Greens up to 16% in a Newspoll: time for a new smear campaign against them

  1. doctorbosworth

    The number, 16, is an outlier.

  2. C’mon confessions, you’re a lefty, you’re a progressive, vote Green, don’t give that Tory Rudd your valuable vote..

  3. confessions

    Wonder how Tanner’s feeling today? 😉

  4. My mail to Tanner, over the past year or so, have used “The Greens” policy on internet censorship and the Rudd Govt failure on ETS as examples as to why i will be changing my vote (here in Melbourne).
    His replies have been boilerplate copies of Labor policy. So I am not sure he gives a damn.
    The only question, here in Melbourne, is can I bring myself to place the Libs ahead of Tanner. Looks like that decision will be moot.
    Oh and my couple of letters to the Libs, asking who will be their candidate, here in Melbourne, and what her/his attitude to Internet Censorship may be, have met with complete silence.
    I guess neither of the BIG TWO want/need my support.

  5. confessions

    Oh and my couple of letters to the Libs, asking who will be their candidate, here in Melbourne, and what her/his attitude to Internet Censorship may be, have met with complete silence.

    Interesting. Before xmas I wrote to my Lib MP asking how he would be voting on the fundie filter. I too have been met with silence. Is it just that they don’t have a policy, or is it because they will be voting for it, but just don’t want to say?

  6. “The only question, here in Melbourne, is can I bring myself to place the Libs ahead of Tanner. “

    You don’t have to, if you voted Labor because you consider yourself left leaning then you can vote for a Greens candidate who can more closely represent your beliefs.

  7. I wouldn’t put the Libs ahead of Tanner. They’re even worse – eg the RSPT scare campaign.

    I’d be voting 1. Greens 2. Dems (if standing) 3. Labor, 4. Liberals, 5, Family First (if standing).

  8. sldr, it doesn’t matter. Melbourne is a contest between the Greens and Labor. The Libs aren’t in the race.

  9. alister,
    Yes, that is why I said the decision on where the second prefs go is moot.
    Greens will outpoll the liberals and so I expect it to be a greens/lab contest with (I imagine) liberal prefs going to greens before labor.
    Here in Melbourne we are spoilt for choice for left inclined voters.

  10. usesomesanity

    Today politians are living proof that we are over-governed by useless corrupt proxies only interested in feathering their own nests with our taxes. Perhaps they should go on a friggin junket overseas to learn how to represent the views of the people they represent.
    The Greens are the last becon of trust everyone is now piling into after being badly burnt by the major parties. Alot of people are now seriously thinking they cant be worst than the shit sandwich of lib and labor we have been force feed forever. A revolution is gaining steam stand by for Greens in power.

  11. My Liberal voting mother shocked me the other day by saying she was probably going to vote Greens next election, simply because she has not been very impressed with the Liberal party lately as they don’t seem to have any actual policies, and would never vote Labor.

    I think hell has frozen over.

  12. looks like disaffected labor voters turning to the greens.. coalition % is virtually unchanged

    you’d expect this. voters gradually learn the incumbent party isn’t representing their interests whilst in power.. only paying lip service.

    their approvals ratings slowly drop and then a new party is elected and the cycle repeats

  13. usesomesanity

    Small win against today’s politians that are living proof that we are over-governed by useless corrupt proxies only interested in feathering their own nests with our taxes. Perhaps they should go on a friggin junket overseas to learn how to represent the views of the people they represent.

    http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/06/01/2915144.htm

  14. Pingback: Anti-Greens Smear Campaign 2010: Neil and Miranda « An Onymous Lefty

  15. baldrickjones

    I would take your green leaning more seriously if you didn’t match it with a smear against the Liberals at every opportunity – even when you criticise the Rudd government. Besides, the Greens have too many loopy policies, far less than the other two parties – in fact all they have going for them is a clear anti-filter policy.

  16. “I would take your green leaning more seriously if you didn’t match it with a smear against the Liberals at every opportunity – even when you criticise the Rudd government.”

    What do you mean “take it more seriously”? I only criticise the Liberals for the things they do that are terrible. It’s not my fault that that’s pretty much all their policies.

    “Besides, the Greens have too many loopy policies”

    Says you.

    “in fact all they have going for them is a clear anti-filter policy.”

    Yeah, but mate you’re a hardline rightwinger. Of course you’re not going to like progressive economic and social policies.

  17. baldrickjones

    “Yeah, but mate you’re a hardline rightwinger.”

    Ohhh….I’m drying my eyes right now. That was a good laugh. There is nothing hard line or right wing about any of the issues I support. The only thing that Maggie Thatcher ever said that I supported was, and I paraphrase, “that the facts of life are conservative”. And they are. Personal responsibility is the most important commodity any society has – but I do agree that helping people who have drawn the short-stick in life should recieve help…initially. I came from a background of welfare dependency and rorting the system at every turn. I chose to escape that life and rely on my own attributes and ability to generate a living. And I will be teaching my son to do the same. Now I have to ensure that my parents don’t infect my son with their own ideals of bludging and rorting the system. Do you know what it is like to have to ensure that your own parents values (or lack thereof) do not transfer onto their grandchildren? It’s bloody painful and requires constant diligence from my wife and I. Plus the social niceties become really hard to adhere to.

  18. I said: “the number, 16, is an outlier.”

    I was wrong; another poll came out today with the greens at primary vote of 15

Leave a Reply

