What’s the point?

Okay, so NSW Labor has replaced someone called Nathan Rees with someone called Kristina Keneally as the state’s Premier, but really, what’s the point? We were only in Sydney for a weekend and the abysmal state of the city’s infrastructure was depressingly apparent. And I can’t see anything in the new Labor Right leader’s profile that gives me much confidence she’ll improve things.

I feel for progressive voters in NSW. After voting for the Greens, which of the major parties do you put last now?

35 responses to “What’s the point?

  1. With the stench of corruption and mismanagement, it is going to be hard for either of the major parties or their supporters to smear the Greens in the usual way leading into the next election…..but I’m sure they’ll try!

  2. Greens first, ALP 2nd last and the Religious Right known as the NSW Libs last.

    Hopefully there will be a few in between. The ALP will still win in all probability in my seat but at least the Greens will get the major electoral funding from my vote (I wonder how much they do get for a primary vote?).

    Actually we have three Greens on our local council now so perhaps if the NSW ALP continues to rot (which it will) perhaps we will see a Green locally and in some other lower house seats.

    Too many people I know are afraid of the religious extremists in the Libs.

  3. Craigy- maybe corruption is too strong a word? Ten million years of absolute power. That’s what
    it takes to be really corrupt.

  4. NSW shows no sign of escaping its convict past. The spirit of the Rum Corps lives on, at least in the ALP where the property developers call the shots.

    Fixed four year terms is looking like a very bad idea, and the enfeebled opposition doesn’t help.

  5. Hopefully there will be a few in between.

    Personally I’d be putting Fred Nile’s fundies behind Labor and Liberal. Liberals might be infested with Religious Right types, but the CDP is owned by them.

  6. “Personally I’d be putting Fred Nile’s fundies behind Labor and Liberal. ”

    That’s a given but the question is a tricky one, which major parties would you put last? Well I consider both Labor and Liberal too far right for me but I’d probably put Labor behind the Libs just to let them know just how dysfunctional and disgraceful they are (as if they didn’t already know)

  7. NSW has Optional preferential voting.

    I couldn’t bring myself to preference either major party last state election. If Rees had managed to get his “no donations from developers” reforms to stick, I might have actually preferenced Labor this time. Now I’m tempted to actually preference Libs on the grounds that Tripobeidi needs to be terminated with extreme prejudice.

  8. Keneally is a Catholic too. No doubt we’ll be hearing the same criticism of her that we hear of Tony Abbott.

  9. Hi, Lefty,

    Haven’t you got it wrong?? Premier Kenally’s role is the same as Joan Kirner’s ( remember her??) was in Victoria- lead the party to a defeat, and hope because she is a woman that the voters won’t punish Labor too much.

  10. Rob: yeah, I got that. I was just reacting in horror at the thought of Daphon’s “a few in between” Labor and Liberal including the CDP.

    Keneally is a Catholic too. No doubt we’ll be hearing the same criticism of her that we hear of Tony Abbott.

    Personally I don’t care whatever faith politicians have. I do care when it influences their governing, as it did with Abbott.

    Keneally has said she won’t allow her catholicism to interfere in her public duty, and we shall see if she is good to her word. If she isn’t then she’ll cop it from me just like the Mad Monk does.

  11. For me, I’ve decided that my personal ideology must play a back seat role in the next election.

    I don’t care any more about policy – the level of corruption within our government is so bad that they simply must be removed at all costs.

    I’ll be voting Liberal.

  12. You mean preferencing them above Labor, right? Not “voting Liberal” per se?

  13. Like Mark says, we’ve got optional preferential voting. So:

    1. Greens
    2. zip f**king all
    3. zip f**king all
    etc.

    Neither major party is entitled to my vote, much as they’d believe otherwise.

  14. Jeremy – perhaps I need to be better schooled in the finer points of preferential voting and our State electoral system!!

    My hesitation in voting Green and preferencing the Libs above Labor is that the Green candidate might actually win my seat (unlikely since I’m in Kristina’s electorate, but still . . .). I want Labor thrown out of office, not looking to form a coalition government with the Greens.

    Am I being foolish here? If there’s a flaw in my logic I’m too ignorant of the electoral process to spot it. I’m open to advice.

  15. Voting for a Green just says you prefer them to the alternatives – and, given that those alternatives are Labor and the Liberals, that seems eminently reasonable to me.

    If enough Labor seats are one by Greens instead of Liberals then whichever party wants to form a government could only do so by promising to be answerable to the people and by implementing some progressive policies.

    I think that’s a better outcome than simply the Libs replacing Labor.

  16. whichever party wants to form a government could only do so by promising to be answerable to the people and by implementing some progressive policies.

    It’s probably a childish over-reaction, but as I said above I have completely ejected ideology from my voting decision at this point. There is a ‘threshold’ issue that must be overcome before we New South Welshmen (Welshpeople?) can have the luxury of worrying about progressive policy – and that’s an utterly corrupt government.

    I’m not sure that out-of-staters can really appreciate what it feels like to so strongly suspect that your government has efffectively become a criminal organisation.

    These people are a cancer on our state and I’m not willing to accept a mild dose of chemo.

  17. The thing is, I think the Liberals are closer to the ALP and less like the necessary strong dose of chemo than the Greens.

    The ALP only got as corrupt as they did because they could get away with it in the two-party system – all they had to do was not be as bad as the Libs.

    If you just vote for the Libs, then the same thing will happen again.

    There needs to be a circuit-breaker, and the best one available is the Greens.

  18. Daphon, ALP with Rudd, Conroy, Atkinson etc are “religious right” as well.

  19. “NSW has Optional preferential voting.”

    And I had intended to take advantage of it next election with Greens 1 and then not marking any other box. However, on Larvatus Prodeo when I mentioned this today, one commenter opined that by doing that I’m actually voting for the encumbent:

    http://larvatusprodeo.net/2009/12/03/kristina-keneally-nsw-premier/#comment-841738

    and

    http://larvatusprodeo.net/2009/12/03/kristina-keneally-nsw-premier/#comment-841858

  20. True, Anthony, and I don’t support the federal ALP either. Naturally they got my preferences at the 2007 election; anything to say goodbye to Howard and his gang.

    Rudd and his lot are not much better than Howard’s group in many ways but at least we no longer have Ruddock, Andrews etc as ministers.

  21. I don’t live in NSW but since Rees came out swinging against the factions the other week he had my support.

    Now, he has been dumped in what seems to be little more than revenge by center unity for his sacking of Tripodi. These people are more interested in their backrooms deals and petty power plays than in governing the state.

    The entire NSW government reeks of not just mere incompetence and ineptitude, but outright corruption and rot. They deserve nothing more than to be totally annihilated at the next election, and I say that as a Labor supporter. With any luck the Greens will step in and pick up the votes of many who like myself could just not support this regime any longer.

  22. From the LP thread to which Daphon links

    “An exhausted preference = a vote for the majors, more specifically the incumbent in your electorate, such is the devil’s bargain of non preferential; damned if you do damned if you don’t.”

    I don’t see how that’s the case. It’s a vote for neither.

    “Nullifying your vote” – if someone gets in, it’s not with your support. You’re helping the major party you hate the most, effectively, but only by as much as you’d otherwise be helping the major party you hate the least.

  23. Thanks, Jeremy, I’ve been trying to understand the logistics of optional-preferential all day without a great deal of success.

    Might see if Antony Green has anything to say on it.

  24. I guess it depends on whether you REALLY don’t care whether you have an ALP or Liberal MP if you don’t get a Green one. If the ALP’s certainty of corruption and depressingly right-wing status does not outweigh the Liberals’ possibility of corruption plus being even more right-wing, or vice-versa, then it makes sense not to help or hinder either.

  25. I didn’t give the ALP my preference vote in the last W.A. state election abd by-election, as I always had done, and now I have a Greens MLA as my representative in Fremantle.
    I couldn’t vote for the Libs, but I’m glad that the ALP lost. You have to send a message, when things are really bad. If the Libs turn out equally as bad send them the same message. They should know, personally, that what they have done is rejected by the electorate. With a bit of luck the ALP will lose again in W.A. in three years time – the same creeps are still there just waiting, so the message needs re-inforcing: we want a change.

  26. Those so calledLabor creeps, make the current Barnett government look like they should be used for garden gnomes.Barnett will be slung out on his ear next election if they get rid of Ripper, he is a creep of the highest order.Labor’s decline in the West was due to Carpenter calling an early election, end of story.

    I

  27. Those so called Labor creeps, make the current Barnett government look like they should be used for garden gnomes.Barnett will be slung out on his ear next election if they get rid of Ripper, he is a creep of the highest order.Labor’s decline in the West was due to Carpenter calling an early election, end of story.

    It is a shame Allanah MacTiernan is probably going to challenge Randall for Canning.Still seeing the back of him will please me no end.

    I

  28. Gary – if a government loses an election after riding along on the biggest economic boom anyone can remember, it itsn’t just because they called an early election. Many of the ministers were deeply unpopular – ask a teacher, for example.
    MacTiernan is a character that provokes extreme reactions – she’s detested as much as admired. One of the reasons the Greens won Fremantle was the profile Adele Carles got fighting MacTiernan’s absurd ‘development’ agenda.

  29. We shall see, Barnett will get the arse and I will take that to the bank.Alannah will take the seat from Randall.

    Your analysis of Allanah is correct in part, she does provoke extreme reaction, the part you got wrong is, one persons absurd development agenda, is another’s, ” it’s great for the state” the people love her.If as I presume you live here like I do? You would know, Western Australians voting record is as parochial as the day is long.

    The economic boom in W.A. has had an impact to be sure, but for whom?The contractors and the workers in the North West.Don Randall, and Wilson Tuckey ran an excellent campaign during the last federal election scaring the bejesus out of the workers there, and some of this, along, with the influence of Brian Burke cost the election.

    But the cynical actions by the tenderfoot Carpenter calling an early election back fired, and this was the main cause.

    If calling an early election is not risky what is Rudd waiting for?For mine the public will perceive it as a cynical exercise, and having Abbott as a P.M. is not out of the realms of insanity.

    As for Fremantle and the Greens win, the working class are just starting to wake up to the fact, the Labor party is as shallow as a moles ball bag, and acted accordingly.

    Oh by the way I vote GREEN.

  30. Are the Greens really who we thought they were? With their endorsement of Internet censorship campaigner Clive Hamilton, and prostitution recrminalisation campaigner Kathleen Maltzahn I’m beginning to wonder. I checked their Internet censorship policy with Senator Ludlam. He assured me that the Greens are all for Internet censorship, and their only objection to the Conroy filter scheme is that it will not be effective enough. Hamilton now seems to rule. Are many Greens supporters aware of this?

    EDIT BY SITEOWNER: This comment is a lie, a shameless anti-green smear. Marek responds to it below.

  31. “Fixed four year terms is looking like a very bad idea, and the enfeebled opposition doesn’t help.

    Fixed four year terms make sense democratically. It means a party cannot call an election when it feels like to gain an advantage.

  32. prostitution recrminalisation campaigner Kathleen Maltzahn

    WTF?
    Kathleen Maltzahn campaigns against the traffiking of women as sex slaves.
    Would you prefer she didn’t?

    Senator Ludlam . he assured me that the Greens are all for Internet censorship…

    Bullshit!
    You’re a fucking liar BillB.

    If you’re going to troll, please don’t make the mistake of thinking that we’re as stupid as you are.

  33. “Fixed four year terms make sense democratically. It means a party cannot call an election when it feels like to gain an advantage””

    Even better would be fixed terms graded to performance.

    Say,

    20 yrs for Greens

    4 yrs for Labor

    And maybe a weekend for the conservatives, well maybe a weekend is a little long.

    Maybe just let them park their arses on the front bench for an hour where they can do what they do best, sleepzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  34. I agree that fixed terms are more democratic.

    I don’t agree they should last for four years, though.

    Fixed three year terms is vastly better.

  35. As Marek says, I’ve campaigned for many years against sexual slavery. When we began working on this issue, women in sexual slavery were routinely detained and deported when they were found by authorities. Now, as a direct result of our campaigning, the government recognises victims of trafficking, slave traders have been successfully prosecuted, and women survivors can stay in Australia to recover from the violence they’ve experienced. If you want a sense of how serious a crime trafficking/sexual slavery is, hear from them directly – http://projectrespect.org.au/news/statement.

    In terms of prostitution, I believe that legalisation has failed. It promised to liberate women in the sex industry from exploitation, and quarantine the sex industry from crime, but there is no sign it has succeeded in either, as trafficking in Victoria’s legal brothels shows. I think we need to be able to discuss this, and I am think the Swedish model that is becoming more and more popular internationally, is worth looking at. Under that model, all selling of sexual services is decriminalised – unlike in Victoria, where only some forms are decriminalised – and buying sexual services is criminalised. This law is part of Sweden’s violence against women law, and the Swedes argue it has significantly decreased trafficking and other exploitation of women.

Leave a Reply

