This country is superior to all others because I was born in it

A bit of childish name-calling in the Thailand/Cambodia spat gives me an excuse for a discussion of patriotism in the region over at Asian Correspondent.

austflag

(Note: site still in the experimental stage. When it’s set up properly I’ll let you guys know.)

7 responses to “This country is superior to all others because I was born in it

  1. Patriotism – first refuge of the scoundrel.

    Patriotism is stupid IMO, unless of course one actually chose to be born in a certain location.

    What benefits are there for patriotism? Are there any tangible benefits. I don’t think one even has to be patriotic to fight for their country, ie I’ll happily fight invaders if they’re coming after me, it’s got bugger all to do with being Australian, it’s more to do with self preservation. As for wars in other parts of the world started by politicians, wouldn’t a patriot say “Fuck that, it’s not my country”?

  2. From the link:

    “How “patriotic” are you comfortable with your neighbours being?”

    Basically they can do what they like, I just think that hanging your nations flag in your front yard is a sign of insecurity, I mean, do people really need reminding which country they are in? I think patriotism is a sign of insecurity, like the desire for safety in numbers or something.

  3. I meant more “neighbours” as in “neighbouring countries”.

    You can leave comments on the AC site, btw. It’s no more complicated than here.

  4. “I meant more “neighbours” as in “neighbouring countries”. ”

    Oh, I see, take away the front yards bit and my response would be pretty much the same.

    “You can leave comments on the AC site, btw. It’s no more complicated than here.”

    OK, I may later. Sorry I didn’t realise the purpose of this thread (to direct us to the other site???) It’s Sarturday morning, I’m more dense than usual.

  5. Just this thread.

  6. It’s a little bit more than plain old patriotism thing when it comes to Thailand + Cambodia Jeremy.

    It’s not like they see Cambodia as we see, say, New Zealand.

    Their 2 countries have a long history and not too long ago were slaughtering each other in the millions.

    It’s strange though you’d think someone writing for “asian correspondent” would make passing mention of this fact in an article about asian relations.

  7. Why? It is, as you suggest, obvious.

Leave a Reply

